Choosing a Career/Major
Place gif alt=
Internship Center
Place Holder
Resumes/Cover Letters
Place Holder
Interviews
Place Holder
Conducting a Job Search
Place Holder
Job Listings
Place Holder
Special Populations
Place Holder
Graduate School Resources
Place Holder
For Employers
Place Holder
For Faculty and Staff
Place Holder
Connect with a Mentor
Place Holder
CDC Logo

CDC Banner
Yellow Bar

Volunteer and Service-Learning Center

Giving Big, Gaining Big!

Service-Learning Site Information

The following is a list of common service-learning sites in the communities around Buffalo State College. Please print this page for the contact information for your community partner, and link to the map to print the driving directions.

If you are using public transportation, the NFTA Buffalo State Student Transit Pass program provides unlimited access to the NFTA metro bus and rail system. A Student Transit Pass, along with a current Buffalo State photo ID card, is required to use any of the services. Transit Passes may be picked up from the E. H. Butler Library Information Commons. Please check http://www.NFTA.com or call 855-7300 for NFTA Metro Bus and Rail for schedule information.

Please note: You are expected to report to your community service site at the agreed upon times for orientations and/or service hours. In the instance you are unable to make your scheduled time due to emergency or illness, please notify your community partner as far in advance as possible. For any other questions contact your course instructor or the VSLC.

For any other questions contact your course instructor or the Volunteer and Service-Learning Center (VSLC).

ORGANIZATION INFO CONTACT INFO

AIDS Community Services of WNY, Inc.
206 S. Elmwood Ave.
Buffalo, NY 14209
Jim Mohr
847-0212x306
jmohr@aidscommunityservices.org
Map This Location

American Cancer Society
101 John James Audubon Pkwy.
Amherst, NY 14228
JoAnn Harig
689-6981x119
Joann.harig@cancer.org
Map This Location

American Red Cross
786 Delaware Ave.
Buffalo, NY 14209
Krista Goldsmith
716-390-6936
goldsmithk@usa.redcross.org
Map This Location

Asarese-Matters Community Center
50 Rees Street
Buffalo, NY 14222
John Fagus
886-1040
Map This Location

Baker Victory Services WAY Program
100 Martin Rd.
Lackawanna, NY 14218
Julie Schaefer
828-7070
jschaefer@olv-bvs.org
Map This Location

Belle Center
104 Maryland St
Buffalo, NY 14201
Martha Watson
939-6920
Map This Location

Bennett Park Montessori
342 Clinton St
Buffalo, NY 14204
Diane Sauer
609-3700
Dsauer@buffaloschools.org
Map This Location

BIREC (Buffalo Immigrant & Refugee Empowerment Coalition)
1005 Grant Street (Schoolhouse Commons Bldg)
Buffalo, NY 14207
Mohamed Mohamed
573-4199
madirshe@yahoo.com
Map This Location

Black Rock Riverside Alliance
2475 Niagara St
Buffalo, NY 14207
Mary Ann Kendron
440-9016
makedron@buffalo.edu
Map This Location

BPS School Oracle Charter School
888 Delaware Ave.
Buffalo, NY 14209
Julie Jackson-Forsberg
725-4657
Map This Location

BPS School 27 Hillery Park Elementary
73 Pawnee Pkwy
Buffalo, NY 14210
Maggie Shuttleworth
816-4770
maggie.shuttleworth@ccwny.org
Map This Location

BPS School 30- Frank A Sedita Academy
21 Lowell Pl.
Buffalo, NY 14213
Kelly Ziegler
883-1296
kelly.ziegler@ccwny.org
Map This Location

BPS School 76 Herman Badillo Bilingual Academy
370 Normal Ave
Buffalo, NY 14213
Mary Clare Hayes
816-3848
Map This Location

Buffalo and Erie County Historical Society
25 Nottingham Court
Buffalo, NY 14216
Volunteer Coordinator
873-9644x323
volnteer@bechs.org
Map This Location

Buffalo City Mission Society
100 E. Tupper St.
Buffalo, NY 14203
Suzanne Cervi
845-8181
scervi@buffalocitymission.org
Map This Location

Buffalo Maritime Museum
90 Arthur St.
Buffalo, NY 14207
Roger Allen
881-0111
Roger.Allen@buffalomaritimecenter.org
Map This Location

Buffalo Museum of Science
1020 Humboldt Pkwy.
Buffalo, NY 14214
Karen Wallace
896-5200x376
kwallace@sciencebuff.org
Map This Location

Buffalo Nigara Riverkeeper
1250 Niagara Street
Buffalo, NY 14213
Kerri Bentkowski
852-7483
kbentkowski@bnriverkeeper.org
Map This Location

Buffalo Olmsted Parks
84 Parkside Ave. (lodge)
Buffalo, NY 14214
David Hoover
838-1249
ahooper@buffaloolmstedparks.org
Map This Location

Buffalo Psychiatric Center
400 Forest Ave
Buffalo, NY 14213
Cherie Seidewand
816-2985
Map This Location

Buffalo ReUse
296 E. Ferry St.
Buffalo, NY 14208
Rachel Matthews
885-4131
volunteer@buffaloreuse.org
Map This Location

Buffalo State Child Care Center
Buckham Hall
Buffalo, NY 14222
Jennifer Siwula
878-5335
siwulajj@buffalostate.edu
Map This Location

Buffalo State College Based Transition Program
Bulger Hall 200, 1300 Elmwood Ave
Buffalo, NY 14222
Christy Weber
878-3770
atticus31879@aol.com
Map This Location

Buffalo State Newman Center
1219 Elmwood Ave.
Buffalo, NY 14222

882-1080
bscnewmancanter@yahoo.com
Map This Location

Buffalo State Weigel Health Center- Counseling Center
Weigel Health Center, 2nd Fl, 1300 Elmwood Ave
Buffalo, NY 14222
Sara Yarosh
878-4436
Map This Location

Buffalo State West Side Youth Development Coalition
1300 Elmwood Ave CLAS A 203
Buffalo, NY 14222
Jonathan Lindner
878-6137
lindnejf@buffalostate.edu
Map This Location

Catholic Charities Immigration & Refugee Assistance
20 Herkimer St.
Buffalo, NY 14213
Becky Mischler
842-0270
b.mischler@ccwny.org
Map This Location

CEM - STAR After School Program
286 Lafayette Ave.
Buffalo, NY 14213

882-2442x21
Map This Location

Community Academic Center
214 Grant St
Buffalo, NY 14213
Maureen McCarthy
878-3916
mccartme@buffalostate.edu
Map This Location

Community Action People Program (CAPP)
2635 Delaware Avenue
Buffalo, NY 14216
Rebecca Mehltretter
694-6630
rmehltretter@people-inc.org
Map This Location

Compass House
1451 Main St
Buffalo, NY 14209
Rachel Wozniak
886-1351
rawozniak@verizon.net
Map This Location

Compeer of Greater Buffalo
135 Delaware Ave.
Buffalo, NY 14202
Krystina Clabo
883-3331x318
krystina@compeerbuffalo.org
Map This Location

Concordia Cemetery
438 Walden Ave.
Buffalo, NY 14211
Bonnie Fleischauer
585-638-2348
bfleischauer@rochester.rr.com
Map This Location

Cornerstone Manor
150 E. North St.
Buffalo, NY 14203
Penny Janson
854-8181 x408
pjanson@buffalocitymission.or
Map This Location

Delaware Heights Nursing/Rehab Center
1014 Delaware Ave
Buffalo, NY 14209
Amanda Nowak
883-6782
Map This Location

First Hand Learning
2495 Main St, Suite 556
Buffalo, NY 14214
Bonnie
831-8722
Map This Location

First United Methodist Church
332 Baynes Street
Buffalo, NY 14213
Jennifer Johnson
885-6641
johnsoja@buffalostate.edu
Map This Location

Food Bank of WNY
91 Holt St.
Buffalo, NY 14206
Martje Bryce
935-6681
MHagueBryce@foodbankwny.org
Map This Location

Global Villages
216 Grant St
Buffalo, NY 14213
Louise Sano
341-8638
Sano23@yahoo.com
Map This Location

Gloria J. Parks Community Center
3242 Main St.
Buffalo, NY 14214

832-1010
Map This Location

Grant Amherst Business Association
1602 Elmwood Ave
Buffalo, NY 14207
Mark Kubiniec

markubi@hotmail.com
Map This Location

Grant Street Neighborhood Center
271 Grant St.
Buffalo, NY 14213
Janice Li
884-0377
janice.gsnc@gmail.com
Map This Location

Grassroots Gardens
2495 Main St. Suite 408
Buffalo, NY 14214
Susannah Barton
783-9653
grgbuffalo@hotmail.com
Map This Location

Hearts for the Homeless
890 Tonawanda St.
Buffalo, NY 14207
Donna Blarr
877-3535
hearts4@roadrunner.com
Map This Location

Hispanics United of Buffalo, Inc,
254 Virginia St.
Buffalo, NY 14201
Deborah Quinones
856-7110
Map This Location

Hope Refugee Services- FLY Afterschool Program
301 14th Street
Buffalo, NY 14213
Claire Essley
515-5532
claire.essley@jrm-buffalo.org
Map This Location

House of Grace
175 Potomac Ave
Buffalo, NY 14213
Matt Kauffman
803-9241
kauffman.m@gmail.com
Map This Location

International Institute of Buffalo
864 Delaware Ave.
Buffalo, NY 14209
Ashley Otto
883-1900 x310
volunteers@iibuff.org
Map This Location

Jericho Road Ministries
233 W. Ferry St.
Buffalo, NY 14213
Krista Schwartzott
881-0531
krista.schwartzott@jrm-buffalo.org
Map This Location

Journey's End Refugee Services
2495 Main St. Suite 317
Buffalo, NY 14214
Bryana DiFonzo
882-4963
volunteer@jersbuffalo.org
Map This Location

Little Portion Friary
1305 Main St
Buffalo, NY 14209
Jane O'Connor
882-5705
signsh@yahoo.com
Map This Location

Lt. Col. Matt Urban Human Services Center of WNY
1081 Broadway Street
Buffalo, NY 14212
Alissa Venturini
893-7222x401
aventurini@urbanctr.org
Map This Location

Making Fishers of Men and Women
30 18th St
Buffalo, NY 14213
Michael Brundige
228-5827
mike@makingfishers.org
Map This Location

Meals on Wheels of WNY
35 Cazenovia St
Buffalo, NY 14220
Jennifer McMorrow
894-9609
jmcmorrow@mealsonwheelswny.org
Map This Location

Native American Community Services
1005 Grant St
Buffalo, NY 14207
Michael Martin
874-1874
mmartin@nacswny.org
Map This Location

New To You Shop/ On the Job Ministries
289 Grant St
Buffalo, NY 14213

866-3429
Map This Location

Northwest Buffalo Community Center Youth Program
155 Lawn Avenue
Buffalo, NY 14207
Frank Cunningham
876-8108
cunn1000@hotmail.com
Map This Location

Ontario Street United Methodist Church
179 Ontario St
Buffalo, NY 14207
Nathan Lange
875-3639
nate_lange@yahoo.com
Map This Location

Penn Dixie Paleontological and Outdoor Education Center
4050 North St.
Blasdell, NY 14209
Jerold C. Bastedo
627-4560
jbpendix@gmail.com
Map This Location

Potter's Pantry
104 W. Ferry St
Buffalo, NY 14213
Lylia Alkhatib

Map This Location

Project Flight
255 Great Arrow Ave., Suite 16
Buffalo, NY 14207
Betty Cappella
876-0979
Map This Location

Respone to Love Center
130 Kosciuszko St.
Buffalo, NY 14212
Kathleen Majchrzak
894-7030
rtlcvolunteers@verizon.net
Map This Location

Riverside Planters
179 Ontario St.
Buffalo, NY 14207
Mathew Bucholz
875-9994
foggymountain88@msn.com
Map This Location

SABAH- Skating Athletes Bold at Heart
2607 Niagara St
Buffalo, NY 14207

362-9600
Map This Location

Salvation Army
960 Main St
Buffalo, NY 14202
Andrea Glinski
884-4798
andrea.glinski@use.salvationarmy.org
Map This Location

Seneca Street United Methodist Church
1218 Seneca St.
Buffalo, NY 14210
Rev. Brian Rotach
541-7316
rotachb@aol.com
Map This Location

St. Luke's Mission of Mercy
325 Walden Avenue
Buffalo, NY 14211
Jeannie Marinaro
984-8581
Map This Location

St. Vincent de Paul- dining room
1298 Main St.
Buffalo, NY 14209
Ed McPherson
882-3360
info@svdwny.org
Map This Location

Statler Center/ Center for Careers in Hospitality Svc
1160 Main St.
Buffalo, NY 14209
Chaunice Hinton-Thomas
882-5690 x263
Chinton@statlercenter.org
Map This Location

The Morlock Foundation
2323 Main St
Buffalo, NY 14214
Carmaletta Zandi
842-1300
tmfceo@verizon.net
Map This Location

Tifft Nature Preserve
1200 Fuhrmann Blvd.
Buffalo, NY 14203
Mauri Coover Reid
825-6397
jebeep53@yahoo.com
Map This Location

TJ Dulski Community Center
129 Lewis St.
Buffalo, NY 14206
Jennifer Pigeon
479-7061
Jennpigeon611@gmail.com
Map This Location

United Way of Buffalo
742 Delaware Ave.
Buffalo, NY 14209
Suzette O'Brien

suzette.obrien@uwbec.org
Map This Location

Upstate NY Transplant Services
110 Broadway Ave
Buffalo, NY 14203
Maureen MacIsaac
853-6667 x3807
mmacisaac@unyts.org
Map This Location

Vive La Casa
50 Wyoming
Buffalo, NY 14215
Sister Beth
892-4354
niederpruem@yahoo.com
Map This Location

We Care Neighborhood Assoc.
595 Sycamore Street
Buffalo, NY 14205
Elizabeth Triggs
430-6169
etriggs0@aim.com
Map This Location

Wellness Institute of Greater Buffalo
c/o Niagara Square Room 607
Buffalo, NY 14202
Philip Haberstro
851-4052
beactive@city-buffalo.com
Map This Location

West Side Bazaar
25 Grant St.
Buffalo, NY 14213
Kathy Taylor
464-6389
Map This Location

West Side Community Services
161 Vermont St
Buffalo, NY 14213
Lucy Candelario
884-6616
lcandelario@roadrunner.com
Map This Location

West Side Ministries, Inc.
301 14th Street
Buffalo, NY 14213
Brittany Barber
828-8681
bbarber@westsideministries.org
Map This Location

West Side Neighborhood Housing Services Inc
359 Connecticut St
Buffalo, NY 14213
Linda Chiarenza
885-2344
lchiarenza@wsnhys.org
Map This Location

Westminster Presbyterian Church
724 Delaware Ave.
Buffalo, NY 14209
Rebecca Severson
884-9437x322
Map This Location

WNY Shares
22 Northhampton St.
Buffalo, NY 14209
John Mika
348-3412
john@wnyshares.org
Map This Location

XCEL Leadership Center, Inc
567 Hertel Ave
Buffalo, NY 14207
Toni Benjamin
819-4100
1tonibenjamin@gmail.com
Map This Location

YALT (Canisus)
2001 Main St. Richard E. Winter Student
Buffalo, NY 14208
Ray Alvarado
888-5800
ralvarado@people-inc.org
Map This Location

Young Audiences of WNY
16 Linwood Ave.
Buffalo, NY 14209
Theresa Woehrel
881-0917
theresa@yawny.org
Map This Location